7 natural wonders of Africa : Africa is home to enormous expanses of unspoilt nature and landscape bursting with rich wildlife, varied landscapes, and eclectic cultures. Thus, the land is rich of wonders; nonetheless, seven of these wonders stand out above the others and were chosen on February 11, 2013, by popular vote. The list of the “Seven Natural Wonders Of Africa” is shown here.

Red Sea Reef.

Situated between Asia and Africa, the Red Sea is an entrance of seawater in the Indian Ocean. The Red Sea is connected to the ocean through the Gulf of Aden and the Bab el Mandeb strait. A designated one of Africa’s Seven Wonders, the Red Sea Rift lies beneath the ocean. The Red Sea is 1,400 miles long, 221 miles broad, and takes up an area of 169,000 square miles. The highest depth of the Red Sea is 7254 feet. The Red Sea’s vast network of shallow shelves is well-known for its marine life and corals. The Red Sea is home to 200 kinds of hard and soft coral as well as over 1,000 species of invertebrates. Ten percent or so of the Red Sea’s 1,200+ fish species are native to the region. The porites and acropora corals that make up the majority of the sea’s bordering coral reefs are between 5,000 and 7,000 years old. Platforms, lagoons, cylinders, and other structures are linked to the reef environment. The Red Sea’s reefs are home to about 44 different species of sharks.

Okavango Delta.

Okavango Delta is a significant stretch of swampy, inland delta that exists where the Okavango River reaches a tectonic trough. The delta is situated in the middle of the endorheic basin of the Kalahari. During the dry season, the river’s water evaporates and never touches the ocean. The Moremi Game Reserve is located on the eastern edge of the Okavango Delta. A wide variety of species can be found in the area, such as the greater kudu, African buffalo, rhinoceroses, chacma baboon, South African cheetah, African buffalo, and African bush elephant. The Okavango Delta has been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site because of its grandeur and expanse.

Ngorongoro Crater.

The focal point of Tanzania’s Ngorongoro Conservation Area, a protected World Heritage Site west of Arusha, is the Ngorongoro Crater. The largest intact, inactive volcanic crater on Earth is the Ngorongoro Crater. The crater was created when a large volcano erupted and collapsed on itself approximately two to three million years ago. While the western wall of the crater, which receives little rainfall, is primarily covered in grassland and scrub, the eastern side of the crater highlands is covered in montane forest. There are two small forested areas dominated by fever trees and open grassland on the crater floor. The Ngorongoro Crater is also considered one of the Seven Wonders of Africa because of its exceptional qualities.

Serengeti Migration.

The African habitat known as the Serengeti spans from northern Tanzania to southwest Kenya. Maasai Mara is the name given to the Serengeti in Kenya. The greatest terrestrial mammal migration in the world takes place in this environment. The Serengeti National Park in Tanzania and many game reserves make up the ecoregion. In addition to lions, this area is home to 500 kinds of birds and 70 species of large mammals. The Serengeti’s diverse topography includes kopjes, riverine forests, kopjes, grasslands, and woodlands.

The annual Great Wildebeest Migration takes place in the Serengeti each year. The Ngorongoro Conservation Area in Tanzania’s southern Serengeti is where the migration starts. Nearly 260,000 zebras, 1.7 million wildebeest, thousands of zebras,  470,000 gazelles, and other plains animals start their migration between January and March. These animals give birth to roughly 500,000 calves by February when they begin to graze on the short grass plains in the southeast portion of the Serengeti. The animals go northwest as the May rains end, and they stay away from the area around the Mara River until late June. The herds arrive in Kenya in late July or early August and remain there. The great migration is a dramatic voyage that records the arrival and departure of the migrants. The voyage claims the lives of almost 250,000 wildebeest who perish from hunger, thirst, and predators.

7 natural wonders of Africa : Sahara Desert.

After the icy deserts of the Antarctic and the Arctic, the Sahara Desert is the third biggest desert in the world. But the Sahara is the greatest of all the world’s torrid deserts. The size of the desert (3,500,000 square miles) is comparable to the size of the United States. With the notable exception of the Mediterranean Sea coast, the Nile Valley in Egypt and Sudan, and the Atlas Mountains of the Maghreb, most of North Africa is covered by the Sahara Desert. There is life in the parched desert. The Sahara Desert is home to a variety of wildlife, including red-necked ostrich, addax, dama gazelle, Saharan cheetah, monitor lizard, sand vipers, African wild dog, desert crocodiles, Saharan silver ant, dromedary camels, and goats. In addition, there are a number of nomadic or travelling tribes living in the desert, and there are some communities in its oases. A range of tourism activities, including camping, camel rides, wildlife viewing, and cultural excursions, are organized in certain regions of the Sahara Desert under the direction of knowledgeable locals.

7 natural wonders of Africa : Mount Kilimanjaro.

Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro, is a dormant volcano in Tanzania. The mountain climbs to a height of 19,341 feet above sea level, rising almost 16,000 feet from its base. In addition to serving as the centerpiece of Kilimanjaro National Park, the peak is a well-liked location for climbers. The tallest volcano outside of South America is Mount Kilimanjaro. The Kibo, Mawenzi, and Shira are three separate cones on the stratovolcano. Official trekking paths ascend to the mountain’s summit. The Machame route is thought to be the most picturesque of all. While the ascent of the Himalayan or Andes peaks is more challenging than the walk to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro, fatalities are frequent. To increase the likelihood of a safe ascent to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro, climbers are therefore asked to abide by certain rules established by the government. Mount Kilimanjaro offers massive hiking safari in Tanzania on a safari.

7 natural wonders of Africa
Mount Kilimanjaro

7 natural wonders of Africa : Nile River.

The Nile River, the world’s longest river, is an essential component of any ranking of Africa’s Seven Wonders. Northeastern Africa’s Nile River flows northward. Eleven nations share the 4,145-kilometer Nile, which serves as the main source of water for the whole population in Egypt and Sudan. Before emptying into the Mediterranean Sea in Egypt, the Nile River finishes in a sizable delta. This river is responsible for the emergence and growth of the Egyptian civilization and the Sudanese kingdoms. Therefore, the majority of Egypt’s most important historical and cultural landmarks are concentrated along the banks of the Nile River.

book a safari